Having passed a rigorous selection process the 2017 cohort will leave for France this September.

Nqaneka Merci Hambakazi, Lubjana Lazarus Tlou, Dinoko Kgomotos Valencia, Vermaak Gail, Dladla Andile, Jenkins Sarah Alexandrea, Namethe Bonolo Olga, Van der Merwe Theo Jacques, Ramatutu Khauta Jeremiah and Elsie Magdalena Nolte will pursue their studies in different French cities and universities : Supagro Montpellier, ISAE-SUPAERO, Université EISTI, Université Paris 1 Sorbonne, Université de Bordeaux, Université de Strasburg, UJF Grenoble, Institut Catholique de Paris, Science Po Paris, Université Catholique de Lyon, ainsi que ISA Lille. 

This briefing session, held at the Alliance Française of Pretoria, was jointly organized by Campus France and the Cooperation and Cultural Action Department of the Embassy. The students got to know each other and learned about France, French politics, French culture and student mobility abroad. They also obtained practical information to prepare for their stay in France.

The Alliance Française gave the students a French lesson and Ms Hélène Bezuidenhoudt from Atout France provided them with tourist information. A representative from St. Gobain, from the French Development Agency (AFD), as well as from Schneider Electric presented their respective organization informing students about possible internship opportunities once graduated in France.

The new scholarship holders and prospective South African students also had the opportunity of getting first-hand information from four French government scholarship alumni members, who told them about their “French experience” and gave them valuable advice.

They also had the opportunity to share a cocktail together.


Our scholarship holders are now ready to go – good luck to everyone!