Fee exemptions to be awarded to a select number of international students following the differentiated fee structure announced for 2019/2020

As part of the French government’s strategy to increase international student mobility to France and to maintain its position as a top host country of international students, it has introduced its “Bienvenue en France” policy which seeks to improve French higher education infrastructure for all students. In order to achieve this, the strategy will adopt a fee increase for international students (outside of the EU), while French universities as well as French embassies will be selecting students for exemption from differentiated fees.

What is the new differentiated fee structure for international students in France?

As of the 2019/2020 academic year, non EU-students will be required to pay differentiated registration fees if:

1. You are enrolling for the 1st time for a Bachelor's or Master's degree, or for an engineering programme, for the start of the 2019/2020 academic year;

2. Within a higher education establishment that falls within the scope of the MESRI (Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation) 

3. Provided that you are not permanently settled in France. 

The state will thus cover two thirds of the cost of your training (the total is valued at over € 10 000). 

The total registration fee that you will be required to pay will be:

€2,770 per year at Bachelor (Licence) level

€3,770 per year at the Master level

If you enroll in a degree at Doctorate level at the beginning of the 2019 academic year, the French government will continue to cover most of the cost of your degree programme. Your tuition for 2019/2020 will be € 380. Non-EU doctoral students are not subject to new differentiated tuition rates.

Who will be awarding and receiving exemptions for differentiated fees?

1. The following list of universities will exempt ALL international students from international fees, i.e. all international students will pay non-differentiated EU fees. 

The full list of these universities is as follows: 

Bordeaux Montaigne,
Bretagne Occidentale,
Clermont Auvergne,
ENI Tarbes,
ENS Saclay,
INP Toulouse,
INSA Rennes,
INSA Strasbourg,
INSA Toulouse,
INSA Val-de-Loire,
INU Champollion,
La Réunion,
Le Havre,
Lyon 1,
Lyon 2,
Lyon 3,
Montpellier 3,
Paris 5,
Paris 7 Diderot,
Paris 8,
Paris 10 Nanterre,
Paris 13,
Paris Sud,
Pau et Pays de l'Adour,
Savoie Mont-Blanc,
Toulouse I,
Toulouse 2,
Toulouse 3,
UT Belfort

Students enrolled to any of the above universities for the 2019/2020 academic year will not be subject to the differentiated fees for non-EU students will pay the same tuition fees as French and EU students, that is:

€170 per year at the licence (bachelor) level

€243 per year at the master level

€380 per year at the doctoral level

2. Any other public French university may decide to exempt a student from tuition fees, in which case they will inform the student as well as the relevant French Embassy of that student’s country of origin.

3. French Embassies across the world, including the Embassy of France in South Africa, will attribute a number of exemptions to students based on their academic results. Students awarded exemptions by their university or the French Embassy of their country for the 2019/2020 academic year will pay the same tuition fees as French and EU students. 

How do I ask to be exempted from international fees?

- All non-EU students living in South Africa (i.e. South African and foreign nationals) can request to be exempted from the differentiated fees.

- If you do not receive an exemption letter from your university or if you receive a letter informing you that you have received a fee exemption, you may contact Campus France South Africa and submit an exemption request to the Embassy of France in South Africa at the following address: pretoria@campusfrance.org

- In order to submit an exemption request, you must send your complete file (application form, university acceptance letter and letter from university indicating that the university has not awarded you an exemption) to the address indicated above.

- A selection committee will attribute exemptions to a select number of students during the course of July 2019.

For more information on the differentiated fee structure, click here.